What are UK bank holidays and when do we get the day off?


Keep calm and enjoy UK bank holidays.

UK bank holidays are a well-loved cultural institution. Though it does seem strange that an entire country shuts down when the bank has a day-off. Basically a bank holiday is the same as a ‘public holiday’ or a ‘religious holiday’. Workplaces will close for the day in order to celebrate something or mark an occasion.

It is called a bank holiday because originally the banks would close. Every other business would be unable to operate without the banks, so they would close too.

Bank holidays and public holidays in 2018:

New Year’s Day 1 January
New Year Holiday 2 January Only a public holiday in Scotland
St Patrick’s Day 19 March Only a public holiday in Northern Ireland
Good Friday 30 March
Easter Monday 2 April This isn’t a public holiday in Scotland
May Day Bank Holiday 7 May
Spring Bank Holiday 28 May
Battle of the Boyne / Orangemen’s Day 12 July Only a public holiday in Northern Ireland
Summer Bank Holiday 27 August In Scotland this holiday is celebrated on the first Monday in August
St Andrew’s Day 30 November Only a public holiday in Scotland
Christmas Day 25 December
Boxing Day 26 December


If you live in Scotland you get an additional bank holiday on 30th Nov in remembrance of St Andrew, the Patron Saint of Scotland. The same goes for Northern Ireland on 17th March to celebrate St Patrick as well as 12th July to mark the Battle of Boyne.

St David’s Day in Wales and St George’s Day in England are not marked with a bank holiday.